About CCF

The Carmon, Campbell, Fontenot Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to encouraging and supporting African American students of Louisiana heritage to pursue and succeed in higher education.

The Carmon, Campbell, Fontenot Scholarship Foundation started as the vision of Gloria Ethel Pitre Condiff, granddaughter of Victoria Carmon Fontenot, and great-granddaughter of Louisa John.

From her mother, Mary Fontenot Pitre Laday, Gloria learned that in the early 1900’s her grandparents, Louis Z. Fontenot and Victoria Carmon Fontenot donated lumber from their sawmill to construct a school building, and hired a teacher, because there was no school for “colored” children in the Ville Platte-Tate Cove area.  Years later, as a widow, Victoria donated an acre of her land to the Evangeline Parish School Board to build another school for rural children.  Reflecting on the fact that the value of education has been passed down and nurtured in our family for years, Gloria thought if my grandparents could do that, what could I do? Thus, Gloria’s dream and inspiration for awarding scholarships was born, and she initiated an ongoing scholarship effort within our bi-annual CCF family reunion.

As this effort grew, Gloria collaborated with the reunion scholarship committee to form a separate entity, and worked with Chicago’s Loyola School of Law Business Law Clinic to set up the CCF Scholarship Foundation. In 2007, the Carmon, Campbell, Fontenot Scholarship Foundation officially became a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable corporation.

Board Members                            Scholarship Selection Committee            Advisor
Augusta Rideau                                              Augusta Rideau                                Auxiliary Bishop Dominic Carmon SVD
Gloria Condiff                                                 Gloria Condiff
Joyce Ellis                                                         Joyce Ellis
Stephne Pettitt-Gaines                                  Tracy Carmen-Jones                       Historian
Barry Davis                                                      Rachel Eli                                          Phyllis Pitre-Lastrapes
Dr. Darrell J. Carmen                                      Dr. Jennie Bennett
Dr. Moselle Dearbone                                    Whitney Harris


Web Administrator:  Ron Fontenot Sr.  admin@ccfscholars.org     Technical Consultant:  David Fontenot